How it´s going – Completion of phase three

Hello Everyone!

I am now taking half of my original dose on both medications. So now I am on 75mg of Sertraline and 150mg of Quetiapine. There have been no unfavorable reactions to the dose reduction whatsoever. Again, I have to stress that I do not simply switch to a smaller amount of any of my medications from one day to the next. Every decrease in dose takes me about three weeks to complete. Also, I never modify the dose of both medications simultaneously, but do it one after another. This adds up to a total of six weeks for the change to be complete. I always start with the antidepressant, and finish with the anti-psychotic.

Given that I am feeling so well, I have decided to continue dose reduction throughout the month of December. I will take the Sertraline down to 50mg. In January, I will be travelling abroad, which is why I intend to wait with the further reduction of the Quetiapine dose until after the trip. I should point out that we will be visiting my partner´s family, and that I have made this same trip twice before. In other words: we will not be exposed to exotic stimuli and strange locations, but rather be welcomed into some sort of home from home. I find this important to mention because dose reductions are safest when there is no stressful situations or emotional turmoil ahead. Of course, these can come up unexpectedly at any moment and even in the middle of a dose reduction, but why deliberately risk any instability in the face of anticipated psychological pressure?

Once I am down to 50mg of Sertraline and 100mg of Quetiapine, which corresponds to one third of the original dose, I will not make any further changes for at least half a year. Frankly, I have not even clarified for myself if I should ever be completely medication free. The habit of popping those pills every morning and evening has become so strong and reassuring that the idea of not having them as a safety-net gives me vertigo. Knowing myself, I might be able to overcome that fear once I am getting closer to the right moment, but I am more of the one-step-at-the-time type, so for now I will be dealing with the next dose reduction and nothing beyond that. This tactic has worked fine for me until now, and not just regarding my medications but also other matters in life, so I shall stick to it.

I will keep you updated.

Felicia.

Leave a Reply

